Bachelor of Science Program

The 4-year Bachelor of Science program comprises two phases. In the first five semesters, students are provided with a broad foundation in basic sciences and electrical engineering. Courses are to be taken in mathematics, physics, elementary- and intermediate-level electrical engineering, and humanities with a total of 96 units. At the end of the 5th semester, students will select one of the areas of Communications, Electric Power Engineering, Electronics, Control Engineering, Digital Systems, and Bio-Electric Engineering, for specialization. The remaining three semesters will be devoted to compulsory and elective courses from the chosen specialization (24-26 units), elective courses from other areas of electrical engineering, management, and economic sciences (10-12 units), and humanities (6 units, including Engineering Ethics). The EE students are expected to do an internship of approximately 12 weeks in the industry and to work towards a BSc thesis under supervision of a member of the academic staff in the fourth year.

Master of Science Program

The EE department of SUT offers a two year Master of Science program in the following areas:
• Bioelectric Engineering
• Communications
o Communication systems
o Secure Communications and Cryptography
o Field and Wave Communications
• Control & Dynamical Systems
• Digital Electronic Systems
• Electronics
o Microelectronic Circuits
o Nano- & Microelectronic devices
• Electric Energy Systems
o Power Electronics & Electric Machines
o Power systems
In the first year, the students take a number of core- and elective courses. If the necessary academic requirements are met, students work towards completion of a master’s thesis in the second year. Otherwise, three additional courses must be taken during the second year. The total number of units is 29 (including Master’s thesis) and 32 for the thesis and non-thesis variants, respectively.

PhD Program

The PhD program of the Electrical Engineering department spans four years. During the first year, students follow a number of advanced courses (18 units in total) in their field of specialization. The list of courses for each individual is tailored to his/her potential PhD research field and is composed in agreement with the PhD supervisor. After the successful completion of these courses, the candidate must take the PhD qualification exam in the second year.
Once qualified, the candidate will prepare a PhD thesis proposal which must be defended before a dissertation committee that is appointed by the graduate office of the Electrical Engineering department on the recommendation of the PhD supervisor. The dissertation committee is composed of University Professors and/or Industrial Researchers and comprises five members at least, of whom two must be from outside the Sharif University of Technology.
After the approval of candidates’ PhD proposal, their research work will start, culminating in a final thesis. A progress report must be submitted every six month and the status of the ongoing research must be orally presented to a committee consisting of candidate’s PhD supervisor, and the internal members of the dissertation committee. The final thesis must be defended before a defense committee comprising at least 3 internal and 2 external members appointed by the graduate office. (The defense committee may differ from the dissertation committee.) The degree of Doctor of Philosophy will be granted to the candidate if the research performed meets the academic standards of the Electrical Engineering department and is approved by the defense committee members.